The New Media Caucus (NMC) is an international non-profit association formed to promote the development and understanding of new media art. The constituents we represent and serve are artists, designers, practitioners, historians, theoreticians, educators, students, scholars, and researchers, as well as like-minded organizations with interests including, but not limited to, digital media, electronic media, mobile media, virtual media, and/or emergent media which we will hereafter refer to as “new media.” We recognize that new media art is inherently interdisciplinary, multimodal, and evolving, as is reflected in the endeavors of our members whose engagement with new media art permeates and advances numerous fields. Our purpose is to support and advance a diverse range of inquiry in order to catalyze further evolution of the field of new media art.


Mat Rappaport, President
Associate Professor, Columbia College Chicago 
Rachel Clarke, Secretary 
Professor, California State University, Sacramento
Jim Jeffers, Treasurer 
Assistant Professor, Indian River State College 
Kevin Hamilton, Editor-in-Chief of Media-N Journal
Professor, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 
A. Bill Miller, Chair of Communications Committee
Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater 
Joyce Rudinsky, Chair of Exhibitions & Events Committee
Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill 
Vagner Whitehead, Immediate Past President
Professor, Texas Woman's University  


Nadav Assor
Assistant Professor, Connecticut College 
Victoria Bradbury
Visiting Assistant Professor, Alfred University
Darren Douglass-Floyd
Independent Artist 
Renate Ferro
Visiting Associate Professor of Art, Cornell University 
Mina Cheon
Interdisciplinary Professor, Maryland Institute College of Art 
Meredith Hoy
Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts, Boston 
Patrick Lichty
Visiting Assistant Professor, American University of Sharjah
Jessye McDowell
Assistant Professor of Art and Exhibitions and Lectures Coordinator, Auburn University 
Barbara Rauch
Associate Professor, Ontario College of Art & Design University, Toronto 
Carlos Rosas
Associate Professor, Penn State University 
Daniel Temkin
Independent Artist
Stephanie Tripp
Associate Professor of Communications, The University of Tampa
Abigail Susik
Assistant Professor of Art History, Willamette University 


Founded: 2003
Membership: 955


Individual Membership: $0
Board of Director Membership: $100
Organizational Sponsors: non-profit $350; for-profit: $700


Download: New Media Caucus Constitution PDF
Download: New Media Caucus Bylaws PDF


New Media Caucus Communications Committee  


The NMC Website was originally developed by James Khazar, Adjunct Faculty, University of California Santa Cruz.

The NMC Website is maintained by the Communications Committee, chaired by KT Duffy.


Doreen Maloney (Founding President) 2003 – 2006
Associate Professor, University of Kentucky, Lexington
Gwyan Rhabyt (President Emeritus) 2006 – 2009
Associate Professor, California State University, East Bay
Paul Catanese (President Emeritus) 2009 - 2014
Associate Professor, Columbia College Chicago
Vagner Whitehead (President Emeritus) 2014 - 2017
Professor, Texas Woman's University

You don't have credit card details available. You will be redirected to update payment method page. Click OK to continue.