Call For Open Board of Directors and Officer Positions

The New Media Caucus is accepting Nominations for election to the Board of Directors and for two officer positions.

Deadline: midnight EST Sunday, November 22nd, 2015

BOARD MEMBERS (3 positions)

The new Board Members will be joining an international team of dynamic practitioners and scholars who make up the twenty one person board. The Board is engaged with the daily operation of the organization as well as collaborative committee initiatives for Communications, the Media-N journal, and Exhibitions and Events. Board Members duties include attending Board Meetings, participating on committees, and offering their expertise and assistance in the operation and development of the New Media Caucus. Board Members actively participate in attracting new Members and organizational sponsors and positively represent and promote the New Media Caucus. Board members are required to pay a $75.00 per year membership fee.

Board Members serve a three-year term beginning at the close of the Annual Regular Meeting of the Organization. The next meeting will take place in Washington D.C. during the College Art Association Conference in February of 2017.

Any member of the New Media Caucus is eligible to make nominations and be nominated to the Board. Self-nominations are encouraged and accepted.

Nominations are submitted via an online form


The New Media Caucus is accepting nominations for three Officer Positions, the President-Elect and The Chair of Media-N. Per the NMC Bylaws, only current Board Members may be nominated for officer positions, however any member of the NMC may submit a nomination.

The President-Elect is a five year commitment. The term begins with a one (1) year term, to serve as President-Elect and then will immediately move to the office of President for a full three (3) year term. Finally the President serves one additional year as Immediate Past President to provide continuity and mentorship for the new President. If the current President runs for a second term, the President-elect year is removed from the term and the President will serve for an additional three year term. The role of Immediate Past President is transferred to the of the President’s term (eight years total).

The Chair of Media-N serves as the The Editor-in-Chief of Media-N and is elected to a three (3) year term. Individuals may serve in this position for multiple terms.

The following people are eligible for Officer positions.

Vagner Whitehead, President Associate Professor, Oakland University

Mat Rappaport, Secretary Associate Professor, Columbia College Chicago

Jim Jeffers, Treasurer Assistant Professor, Indian River State College

Pat Badani, Editor-in-Chief of Media-N Journal Independent Artist/Scholar

A. Bill Miller, Chair of Communications Committee Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Joyce Rudinsky, Chair of Exhibitions & Events Committee Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Nadav Assor Assistant Professor, Connecticut College

Victoria Bradbury Researcher @ CRUMB, Sunderland, UK

Mina Cheon Interdisciplinary Professor, Maryland Institute College of Art

Rachel Clarke Professor, California State University, Sacramento

Renate Ferro Visiting Assistant Professor of Art, Cornell University

Kevin Hamilton Associate Professor, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Meredith Hoy Assistant Professor, Arizona State University

Patrick Lichty Assistant Professor, Columbia College Chicago

Jessye McDowell Assistant Professor of Art and Exhibitions and Lectures Coordinator, Auburn University

Barbara Rauch Associate Professor, Ontario College of Art & Design University, Toronto

Carlos Rosas Associate Professor, Penn State University

Joshua Selman President, Artist Organized Art

Daniel Temkin Independent Artist

Stephanie Tripp Associate Professor of Communications, The University of Tampa

Jessica Westbrook Assistant Professor, School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Nominations are submitted via an online form

The form includes a 250 word biography and 250 word position statement addressing the following questions.

  • Why do you want to serve on the New Media Caucus Board?
  • What interests, skills or experience can you bring?
  • What NMC initiatives are you interested in working on?

Deadline: midnight EST Sunday, November 22nd, 2015