Intersections: The Ammerman Center for Arts and Technology 16th Biennial Symposium

February 15 – 17, 2018

The Ammerman Center for Arts and Technology at Connecticut College is pleased to present “Intersections: the 16th Biennial Symposium on Arts and Technology.” 

The aim of the symposium, now in its thirty-second year, is to create a forum for multidisciplinary dialogue at the intersection of arts, technology and contemporary culture. The symposium brings artists and researchers from a wide range of fields together to engage, interact and share ideas as they present new works, research and performances in a variety of formats. Featured events include a keynote address by Krzysztof Wodiczko, a Natalie Bookchin exhibition, several commissioned multi-disciplinary works, paper presentations, workshops, gallery exhibitions, music concerts, installations, screenings, public interventions and live media performances. Newly commissioned works will be presented alongside selected works by symposium participants. See below for our live-streaming events. For the full symposium program see:

Keynote Address: Open Transmission: Media Art, Public Space and Fearless Speech by Krzysztof Wodiczko

Krzysztof Wodiczko is an internationally renowned artist known for large-scale projections on monuments and institutional city facades that explore the relationships between communities, history, and public space, will deliver the keynote address.

Keynote live stream: February 16, 9:30-10:45am


Featured artist talk: Network Effects by Natalie Bookchin

Bookchin is an internationally acclaimed artist whose work explores some of the far-reaching consequences of the digital on a range of spheres including aesthetics, labor, leisure, and political speech. In this talk Bookchin will discuss the work and context around her exhibition at the Cummings Arts Center galleries, featuring her media art works from the past decade.

Artist talk live stream: February 15, 4:15-5:15pm


Artist talks and paper presentations:

Thursday, February 15, 9:30 a.m. – noon  
Ha Na Lee  
William Orzo
Nancy Nowacek
Sophia Brueckner
Andrea Baldwin /James Lee / Heidi Henderson
James Lee, Isaih Porter, Rishma Mendhekar

Thursday, February 15, 1:30 – 3:45 p.m.
Elizabeth Jameson
Joel Ong
Megan Young, Gregory King, Angela Davis Fegan (2018 Commissioned artists)
Aurie Hsu, Steven Kemper (2018 Commissioned artists)
Shalev Moran, Milana Gitzin Adiram (2018 Commissioned artists)

Friday, February 16, 11 a.m. – Noon
xtine Burrough, Leticia Ferreira de Souza
Amanda Gutierrez
Nicholas Bouillot, Michel Seta, Zack Settel

Friday, February 16, 1:30 – 4:15 p.m.
Agustina Isidori
Philipp Schmitt
Katie Cuan, Amy LaViers, Ishaan Pakrasi
Stephanie Rothenberg
Robin Cox
Nadav Assor

Saturday, February 17, 9 a.m. – Noon
Asha Tamirisa
WhiteFeather Hunter
Heidi Boisvert
Catherine Pancake
Mariana Perez-Bobadilla
Mona Kasra

Saturday, February 17, 1-3 p.m.
Mallory Catlett, Alex Wermer-Colan, Lucas Crane
Mina Rafiee
R. Danielle Egan
Bridget Baird, Andrea Wollensak
Orr Menirom