2024 Judson-Morrissey Excellence in New Media Award Winners

The New Media Caucus (NMC) is excited to announce the awardees of the 2024 Judson-Morrissey Excellence in New Media Award. The scholarship fund provides multiple unrestricted awards of up to $500 to BIPOC undergraduate and graduate students who have excelled in the field of new media art. This award is consistent with the vision of the NMC and our commitment to cultivating inclusivity within the new media arts community.

This year’s talented awardees are Gordon Fung, Laura Castillo, Mac Andre Arboleda, Leilei Xia, Wenran Zhao, and Ziye Zhang. Their recent work will be featured in an upcoming NMC Header/Footer Gallery exhibition alongside interviews exploring their practices in more depth. 

2024 Vagner Mendonça-Whitehead Microgrant Winners

The New Media Caucus (NMC) is also thrilled to announce the awardees for the 2024 Vagner

Mendonça-Whitehead Microgrant. The microgrant supports equity, inclusion, and diversity in our community through unrestricted grants of up to $1000 to BIPOC artists and scholars in the new media art field, at any stage of their career. 

This year’s accomplished awardees are Haisi Hu, Carlos Rodrigo Guzman-Serrano, Federico Cuatlacuatl, and Banyi Huang. In addition to monetary support, the awardees are invited to share recent work in the NMC Header/Footer Gallery and complete an interview for a Member Spotlight Feature on our website.

Applications will open for next year’s award cycle in early November. All eligible BIPOC artists, practitioners, historians, and/or critics working in the field of new media are encouraged to apply.

We received a record number of applications this year from some incredible candidates. If you would like to support these initiatives, you can contribute a tax-deductible donation that will direct 100% of your gift to our scholarship and microgrant fund!