New Media Caucus 2017 – Election Cycle

The New Media Caucus is accepting nominations for election to the Board of Directors.

In addition we are accepting nominations for three Officer positions: Treasurer, Chair of Exhibitions and Events, and Chair of the Communications Committee.

Deadline: midnight EST Friday, November 17th, 2017

BOARD MEMBERS (eight positions)

New Board Members will be joining an international team of dynamic practitioners and scholars who make up the twenty one person board. The Board is engaged with the daily operation of the organization as well as collaborative committee initiatives for Communications, the Media-N journal, and Exhibitions and Events. Board Members duties include attending Board Meetings, participating on committees, and offering their expertise and assistance in the operation and development of the New Media Caucus. Board Members actively participate in attracting new Members and organizational sponsors and positively represent and promote the New Media Caucus. Board members are required to pay a $75.00 per year membership fee.

Board Members serve a three-year term beginning at the close of the Annual Regular Meeting of the Organization. The next meeting will take place in New York City during the College Art Association Conference in February of 2017.

The New Media Caucus is committed to increasing the diversity of our community, board and membership to promote an environment of equality, inclusion, and respect for difference. Nominees who can contribute to this goal are encouraged to identify their strengths and experiences in this area. Individuals from groups whose underrepresentation in the field of new media and technology-based art, design and scholarship – broadly defined – are particularly encouraged to apply.

Any member of the New Media Caucus is eligible to make nominations and be nominated to the Board. Self-nominations are encouraged and accepted.

Nominations are submitted via an online form

The form includes a 250 word biography and 250 word position statement addressing the following questions.

  • Why do you want to serve on the New Media Caucus Board?
  • What interests, skills or experience can do you bring to this role?
  • What NMC initiatives are you interested in working on?

If you are not ready to commit to a board level position, we strongly encourage all New Media Caucus members to get actively involved with the individual committees including Events, Communications and Media-N journal.

OFFICER POSITIONS (three positions)


The duties of the Treasurer are to collect all dues and other accounts due to the Organization, and to deposit such funds in the name of the New Media Caucus in a financial institution approved by the Board of Directors, and will perform such other duties as assigned by the Board or delegated by the President. The Treasurer will keep accounts of the sources of all income and purposes of all expenditure, manage tax filing and provide a complete financial report at the annual membership meeting of the Caucus.  The Treasurer shall be elected for a three (3) year term.


The Chair of the Communications Committee must be a Board Member in good standing. This committee shall utilize all appropriate means to acquaint the appropriate constituencies and the lay public with the role and importance of the New Media Caucus. The committee will assist with the vision and continued development of the New Media Caucus web site and social media initiatives. A Board Member shall be Chair and The Director of the Website will automatically be a member of this committee unless there is no current Board Member in this titled position.


The Chair of the Exhibitions and Events Committee must be a Board Member in good standing. This committee shall organize exhibitions and events in conjunction with conferences where New Media Caucus maintains a presence (e.g. the annual College Art Association Conference). In this regard, this committee is responsible for developing relationships with venues that can support our programming. Additionally, this committee will spearhead the development of exhibition, performance, and screening opportunities beyond conference affiliations, with the purpose of promoting the work of New Media Caucus members and advancing our mission. The Committee Chair is responsible for maintaining direct liaison on all its developments and initiatives with the President of the New Media Caucus, who is automatically a member of this committee.

The following people are eligible for Officer positions:

  • Nadav Assor Assistant Professor, Connecticut College
  • Victoria Bradbury Assistant Professor of New Media, University of North Carolina Asheville
  • Mina Cheon Interdisciplinary Professor, Maryland Institute College of Art
  • Rachel Clarke, Secretary Professor, California State University, Sacramento
  • Renate Ferro Visiting Assistant Professor of Art, Cornell University
  • Darren Douglas Floyd Assistant Professor of Video, Digital and New Media, Rhodes College
  • Meredith Hoy Assistant Professor, Arizona State University
  • Jim Jeffers, Treasurer Assistant Professor, Indian River State College
  • Patrick Lichty Assistant Professor, Columbia College Chicago
  • Jessye McDowell Assistant Professor of Digital Media, St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • A Bill Miller Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Barbara Rauch Associate Professor, Ontario College of Art & Design University, Toronto
  • Carlos Rosas Associate Professor, Penn State University
  • Joyce Rudinsky Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Abigail Susik Assistant Professor of Art History, Willamette University
  • Daniel Temkin Independent Artist
  • Stephanie Tripp Associate Professor of Communications, The University of Tampa
    Vagner Whitehead, Immediate Past President Associate Professor, Oakland University

Nominations are submitted via an online form


Deadline: midnight EST Friday, November 17th, 2017