NMC 2018 Election Cycle

The New Media Caucus is accepting nominations for election to the Board of Directors, and nominations for two Officer positions: President Elect, and Chair of Exhibitions and Events. The deadline for nominations is midnight EST Saturday, November 17th, 2018.

BOARD MEMBERS (four positions)
New Board Members will be joining an international team of dynamic practitioners and scholars who make up the twenty-one person board. The Board is engaged with the daily operation of the organization as well as collaborative committee initiatives for Communications, the Media-N journal, and Exhibitions and Events. Board Members duties include attending Board Meetings, participating on committees, and offering their expertise and assistance in the operation and development of the New Media Caucus. Board Members actively participate in attracting new Members and organizational sponsors and positively represent and promote the New Media Caucus. Board members are required to pay a $75.00 per year membership fee.

Board Members serve a three-year term beginning at the close of the Annual Regular Meeting of the Organization. They join one or more of the NMC’s standing committees and/or work on NMC initiatives. The next meeting will take place in New York City during the College Art Association Conference in February of 2019.

Our Mission:
The New Media Caucus (NMC) is an international non-profit association formed to promote the development and understanding of new media art. We represent and serve: artists, designers, practitioners, historians, theorists, educators, students, and scholars. Recognizing new media art to be inherently interdisciplinary, multimodal, and evolving, we support and advance a wide range of inquiry to catalyze further evolution of the field.

The NMC is committed to extending and sustaining the diversity of our community, board, and membership, to promote an environment of equality, inclusion, and respect for difference. We prioritize inclusion as an ongoing collaborative process of growth that we continually address, both within the Caucus and in our field.

In addition to being an independent arts organization, the New Media Caucus is an Affiliate Society of the College Art Association.

Any member of the New Media Caucus is eligible to make nominations and be nominated to the Board. Self-nominations are encouraged and accepted.

Nominations are submitted via an online form: https://goo.gl/forms/dGp3V7Tm77pIFi4a2

The form includes a 250 word biography and 250 word position statement addressing the following questions.

  • Why do you want to serve on the New Media Caucus Board?
  • What interests, skills or experience can do you bring to this role?
  • What NMC initiatives are you interested in working on?

If you are not ready to commit to a Board level position, we strongly encourage all New Media Caucus members to get actively involved with the individual committees including Events, Communications, Treasury, and Media-N journal.

OFFICER POSITIONS (two positions)

The President-Elect must be a Board Member in good standing. They shall be elected for a one (1) year term, in the first year to serve as President-Elect and then will immediately move to the office of President for a full three (3) year term. The President-Elect shall serve on committees and perform such other duties as delegated by the President. The President-Elect is expected to work closely with the President in preparation for assuming the President role at the conclusion of their year as President-Elect.

The Chair of the Exhibitions and Events Committee must be a Board Member in good standing, and is responsible for overseeing events during the annual meeting of the Organization, as well as New Media Caucus events throughout the year. This includes forming sub-committees for the oversight and completion of event related tasks. The Committee Chair is responsible for maintaining direct liaison on all its developments and initiatives with the President of the New Media Caucus, who is automatically a member of this committee. The Exhibitions and Events Committee shall organize exhibitions and events in conjunction with conferences where New Media Caucus maintains a presence (e.g. the annual College Art Association Conference). In this regard, this committee is responsible for developing relationships with venues that can support our programming. Additionally, this committee will spearhead the development of exhibition, performance, and screening opportunities beyond conference affiliations, with the purpose of promoting the work of New Media Caucus members and advancing our mission.

The following people (current Board members) are eligible for Officer positions:

Nadav Assor Assistant Professor, Connecticut College

Liat Berdugo, Assistant Professor, Art and Architecture, University of San Francisco

Victoria Bradbury Assistant Professor of New Media, University of North Carolina Asheville

Darren Douglas Floyd Assistant Professor of Video, Digital and New Media, Rhodes College

Carrie Ida Edinger Independent Artist

Johanna Gosse Visiting Assistant Professor, Scholar in Residence, Dept. of Art & Art History, University of Colorado, Boulder

Patrick Lichty Assistant Professor, Columbia College Chicago

Barbara Rauch Associate Professor, Ontario College of Art & Design University, Toronto

Abigail Susik Assistant Professor of Art History, Willamette University

Stephanie Tripp Associate Professor of Communications, The University of Tampa

Jennifer Zaylea Adjunct Assistant Professor, University of the Arts, Philadelphia

Mina Cheon Interdisciplinary Professor, Maryland Institute College of Art

Rachel Clarke, Professor, California State University, Sacramento

Byron Rich Assistant Professor of Art, Director of Art & Tech., Allegheny College

Meredith Hoy Assistant Professor, Arizona State University

Jim Jeffers, Treasurer Indian River State College

Jessye McDowell Assistant Professor of Digital Media, St. Mary’s College of Maryland

Nominations are submitted via an online form: https://goo.gl/forms/dGp3V7Tm77pIFi4a2

Deadline: midnight EST Saturday, November 17th, 2018